What If’s

What if I told you, the ones you ride bikes with at ten, you wont ride with at 20,  they will only exist on Facebook! What if I told you the ones at twenty riding around with you getting high and sneaking beers wont exist at 25! What if by thirty all those people you thought  would be there until the end, well in the end. What if  I told you that one of them wouldn’t have time to golf anymore because he has kids and sports and life. What if I told you one of them wouldn’t kick the drugs and would barely be getting by and would be too afraid to pick up the phone and call you. What if I told you that one of them didn’t quit doing the drugs and one of them that was there at twenty-one is doing twenty to life for committing a murder high on meth last summer.  What if I told you that same persons little brother overdosed and there was somebody there to do something about it, but they left and saved their own ass, couldn’t even dial 911. What if I told you that life passes you by when you keep living the same day over and over again and three months away from forty the regrets outweigh the good times ten fold. What if I told you that there is no do over, no turning off the video game because you don’t like the results! What if I told you to go to college, what if I said start saving money young, what if I said  don’t blow off that opportunity when it knocks, you may think it will knock again, but it may not. You may think that you have time because you are young, but when the moment is lost, it is gone forever. What if I told you that money makes it easier at times, but it wont make you happy. What if I told you that some of the most unhappy people I know are the wealthiest I know. What if I told you that the ones you never thought would hurt you, end up in the end hurting you the worst! What if I told you that your President, oh hell, I am tired of telling you all the bad things. What if I told you that you and I are better than this, we have to be. What if I told you it only takes one voice, one of us to stand up and say enough is enough. Enough of the judging, leave it to God if the guy I really believe in is up there. What  if  I said enough of the hate that we are letting destroy and divide us  because we chose to only see it from our side. What if I told you we have a responsibility to do something about this. What if I told you about the guy in the wheelchair who drags his ass to the gym every single day. What if I told you about the soldier with the fake leg dealing with PTSD and yeah he’s there too. What if I told you that they aren’t making excuses, so why are so many people who don’t have limitations like you and I the ones making the most excuses! I guess it starts at the top doesn’t it Mr. President? What if we took the what if out of it and did something about it?

Standard

Leave a Reply

